Plan B

The Autonomous Books concept is clearly going to be a bit fluid.

After sitting down with someone who can actually ‘do’ numbers, we worked out that if I managed to sell every single copy on the virtual shelves of Autonomous Books, at full price, I would possibly make £200 profit.

But that doesn’t take into account any unforeseen expenses… and in business I get the distinct impression that there are always unforeseen expenses!  It also doesn’t take into account the likelihood that folk will search for a cheaper deal on Amazon.  All of which kind of leaves me in a sticky situation regarding feeding myself and paying rent.

But all is not lost.  Perhaps it might even be better.  There’s no large lady singing in my sitting room yet…

Plan B – or you could say Plan A and a half – is to keep plodding on, figuring stuff out and making it up as I go along.  I still want to sell books, I’m still an advocate of self help and I still want Autonomous Books to do some good stuff, SO – for now I’ve set up an eBay account and will start to sell old secondhand books to raise ££ for charity, and on Twitter I will continue to follow inspiring organisations and help spread some good ripples.

We’ll see how that goes, and what comes of it… I’m still on a path, I just don’t know where it’s going yet!  At this point I’m thinking of Thomas A. Edison… “I have not failed. I’ve just found 10,000 ways that won’t work.”  !!!

Leave a Reply

